# Role administration

> Create, edit, and delete roles in IS Tools to group access rights and assign them to users. Roles define what users can view and do in the application.

[Administration of users and roles](administration_of_users_and_roles.md) > Role administration

A role is a function that a person performs within an organization or system, that involves certain responsibilities, e.g., the role of a Logistics Manager may involve transportation management, stock control and warehousing.

In this way, roles should be defined in the IS Tools platform _based on the functions that users need to carry out within the business process in the application_. For instance, the role of the "Logistics Manager", who might be interested in running reports only for his/her department, or the role of the "Warehouse employee", who might have the responsibility to update the "Warehouse" form with the packages received during the day.

The concept of role is essential in IS Tools. A role, connected to a user account, is used to determine the access rights that users will have to view and do in the application. In other words, _access rights are granted to the users, via roles_.

The **Role administration** form is used to manage roles, and is located in the **Rights** folder under **Administration** in the navigation menu. The actions that can be performed in this form are:

## Create a role

Open the **Role administration** form. Note that a role is already selected in the **Roles** list, and its name and description are displayed in the **Role** and _Description_ boxes, respectively. Type a new name and a new description for the new role. Click the **Create new role** button. You can alternatively click instead the **Save as new** button, if you want to make a copy of the selected role (to include its assigned users).

Tick the **Enable geolocation tracking for role** in case you need to track users' position assigned to this role.

> **Note:**
> 
> Once this setting in on, the user will be asked for permission in his/her preferred browser to access his/her location, which must be granted for this to work.

Note that this setting can be invalid if denied per user. If this is not available, ask your application administrator to check the **Enable location tracking** of the Application settings form.

> **Tip:**
> 
> New roles have no rights to access items in the application. Therefore, _every time a new role is created_, [access rights](access_rights.md) must be granted for record groups, fields and forms; and _the new role should be tested by the administrator_ (by logging in as a user with this new role) to _confirm that everything in the application works_ as it should be (permitted functions, forms, data, etc.).

## Edit a role

In the **Role administration** form, select a role in the **Roles** list box. The name, description and users of the selected role will be displayed. Change the information you need and click the **Save** button.

You can easily find a role and users by using the **Roles filter**, **Users in Role filter** and **Available Users filter**, to restrict the range of displayed roles and users, based on the role names and user names, first name and/or last name. Click the **Refresh** button to apply the filters.

> **Caution:**
> 
> Never rename the ADMIN role. If this role does not satisfy the requirements of your application, create a new role.

## Delete a role

In the **Role administration** form, select a role in the **Roles** list box (you can easily find a role by using the **Roles filter**, and then clicking the **Refresh** button to display it). Click the **Delete role** button. You will be prompted to confirm the deletion.

A role can be deleted regardless of whether it contains users or not. The users are not deleted.

> **Caution:**
> 
> Never delete the ADMIN role. If this role does not satisfy the requirements of your application, create a new role.

## Assign users to a role

In the **Role administration** form, select a role in the **Roles** list box (you can easily find a role by using the **Roles filter**, and then clicking the **Refresh** button to display it). _To add_ one or more users to the selected role, select the user(s) in the **Available users** list box and click the left arrow button, to move it to the **Users in role** list box. Click the **Save** button.

To remove one or more users from the selected role, select the user(s) in the **Users in role** (n) list box and click the right arrow button, to move it to the **Available users** list box. Click the **Save** button.

> **Caution:**
> 
> As an administrator, never remove your username from the ADMIN role.
