# Offline mode

> Work offline in IS Tools on Chrome or Safari. Records are stored locally in the browser and synchronized back to the server when you reconnect to the internet.

[Application forms](application_forms.md) > Offline mode

The Offline mode allows you to work in your application forms when you don’t have netwok connectivity. When the connection is back, you can go to Online mode to synchronize the changes made.

> **Note:**
> 
> Only _Chrome_ for Android/Desktop and _Safari_ for IOS are supported.

> **Note:**
> 
> Ask your application administrator to enable this option for you.

1.  _Prepare_: Note an **ONLINE** green button at the top right corner. Before you switch it to **OFFLINE** mode, you must adapt your existing form, or create a new one, having a _Table section_ where all desired records are displayed, and a _Detail section limited by the active record on this Table section_, with the appropriate fields to edit.

    > **Caution:**
    > 
    > Only Detail section and Table section are supported to work as offline. For the latter one, the **Save automatically** setting must be unmarked.

2.  _Log in_: Next time you access the application, an **Offline** tab will appear at the login page. Click on **Open** next to the desired form.

3.  _Work_: Make the changes you need. Note the following _remarks_:

    -   Only forms with data from one table are supported.

    -   Only edition of existing records is supported.

    -   Switching between records via the Record selector or Multi detail section is not supported.

    -   Validation with data that is not displayed in the form is not supported.

    -   PDF generation is not supported.

    -   The data cannot be filtered nor sorted.

    -   _Multi-value fields, and Relation fields and linked lists cannot be edited_.

    -   Calendars show only **week** and **day** view.

    -   "Show same record in other forms" is disabled.

    -   Form links only work if the target form is also offline.

    -   Button, Icon and Link components' actions are disabled.

    -   Action icons are hidden.

4.  _Synchronize_: Whenever you go online, open your form and notice that a message pops up indicating that the offline version is finished. You must save the form to keep the data. If, for any reason, you don’t wish to synchronize the data, click on the Revert icon of the Table section.

> **Caution:**
> 
> Data edited under offline mode is stored in the device web browser local storage. Some devices have clean up services that remove data from local storage periodically. So, if this functionality is used for days without doing synchronization, the data may be lost.
